In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In a few countries, an increasing number of individuals are getting fascinated to discover the past of the dwelling or property they reside in. This essay will discuss the curious nature of the current generation and the need for a sense of connection as the cause, followed by how families living for generations can help in providing information. One of the reasons that are contributing towards this is the intriguing nature of human beings born in the late nineties. Many of them are aware that the premises they are now resident to must have had a beginning which is now refurbished and renovated. As a result, this triggers the brain to know more about what was the thought process that lead to the construction of this structure at this specific location. For example, in 2020 a survey conducted by Realtor.com displayed that 80 per cent of youngsters before renovating the building they reside in would research the initial idea behind it because they did not want to damage the sentiments attached to that habitation. Another reason is that to feel at home, individuals seek a sense of connection. Usually, a structure is made from concrete, steel, wood and other forms of raw material. There is not an instant attachment to any property one would move in along with their family. Therefore, to convert a house into a warm permanent abode, individuals look for reasons to find feelings in order to settle down for their entire lives and build legacies there. For example, in 2015 research published by the psychology department of the University of The Punjab 50 per cent of those who bought a new property would search for the history of the building in order to find a feeling of belonging. Out of the many approaches, one that is most common is meeting the elderly in the neighbouring houses, as they have seen the area built, the surroundings change around them and the tenants moving in and out of these dwellings. This is why they have the most information about the place and can be the most authentic source of data. For example, in 2017 an article published by The Newyork Times showed that 68 per cent of the intriguing stories were uncovered about New York by talking to the senior members of the society. In conclusion, curiosity and a desire to seek a connection are two possible reasons why people investigate the history of their homes and in order to do so, elder members of society are the best peoples to reach out to.