Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us more about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisement is a means of creating awareness about certain products and services that improve our lives. Some school of thought has come up to say that advertising enhances impulse buying. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that advertisement informs us about new products and prices which improve life. To begin with, the main purpose of advertising products is to create public awareness of the goods in the market. Advertising aids public perception and acceptance of the products and services. If some products are not advertised, there won’t be public knowledge of them. For instance, a few years ago, my family had to go on vacation to Miami and we needed a travel agent to help with our bookings. We got a good consultant from an Ad my dad saw in the daily magazine. Also, there are certain products that have been improved as a result of advancements in technology. These products can only be purchased by people who are aware of their upgrade. In addition, the various channels of advertisement enhance public awareness of product prices. This would protect consumers from price exploitation and ensure price reduction among competitors. For instance, a study in 2018 by the Small-Scale Association revealed that the price of all 250g of detergents in the Nigerian market is at par. This was as a result of Klin advertising its products for N500, all other producers of the similar brand had to lower their price to the advertised price. In conclusion, advertising may have its own drawbacks, however, I agree that advertising is a useful tool to improve the lives of people as product availability and price awareness are made known to the public.