Nowadays, some people assert that the resources invested in scientific research shall be reduced. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that knowledge acts as a critical part of the civilization of human beings. That is, it has been the greatest assistance for humans in coping with hardship in all aspects of life. In contemporary society, some people harbour a belief that resources invested in science-related research shall be curtailed. From my perspective, I tend to stand with antagonists and will reason out my standpoints in the following paragraphs of this essay. First of all, one of the primary viewpoints is that such a vital role knowledge plays in the progress of technology. With the soaring advances in it, a vast number of state-of-the-art inventions have been brought to bear on bringing convenience to the lives of billions. An extremely salient example is the mobile phone, which is broadly deemed as epoch-making. Without the aid from it, instant communication through telecommunication and social media including Instagram and Facebook would not have been called into action. Furthermore, doing laundry by manual washing can be time-consuming and exhausting for our ancestors. With the aid of such a machine, we are allowed to considerably cut down on the precious time spent on household chores by simply pressing a few buttons on the dashboard. At the other end of the spectrum, a colossal contribution to medicine can be witnessed. Admittedly, the lethal disease had indeed wreaked tremendous havoc on mankind. In medieval centuries, devoid of proper techniques of treatment, millions of Europeans consequentially succumbed to the plague. Nowadays, with the rapid development in medical research, effective therapies have been come up by resolved scientists to preclude humans from the jeopardy derived from fatal illnesses. Additionally, something which shouldn’t be ignored is that it leads to the significant extension of the average longevity of humankind as well. To sum up, scientific research might be considered low productivity and not lucrative, nevertheless, I am inclined to call for keeping positive and persevering in this. I suggest a collaboration shall be made between the governmental authorities and voluntary organizations for the betterment of the next generation.