Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will no longer be necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there have been some arguments related to the redundancy of public museums and art galleries due to the proliferation of online websites providing images of historical objects and artworks. I believe that physical facilities for these cannot be supplanted by computers. In this essay, there will be reasons for this. Firstly, museums and galleries including cultural and artistic displays can present the culture and history of a country. To be more specific, preserved artefacts can tell stories about the past, which can be passed on to the next generations in order to retain the precious long-lasting facts of one nation. Secondly, the tourism industry could benefit significantly from the existence of these places since they can bring cultural and historical value to foreign tourists by providing knowledge via the guide’s narration. For example, according to research, 8 out of 10 tourists will visit at least one museum to learn about a new culture when they visit a city. This will probably boost the development of tourism in a country. Others might claim that people can save some time if they see images of artefacts and read historical stories online. They think that they can optimize the travelling time while still being able to obtain needed information. To this, I would argue that touring a museum via a computer is only an isolated experience since there is no real interaction. Consequently, the “visitors” cannot grasp the whole picture and initiate conversations with anyone about the topic because there might not be anyone who can answer questions and offer other information immediately if needed. Therefore, even though it can somewhat save time, it does not seem to be efficient. To sum up, the presence of art galleries and museums is not obsolete as it can maintain and promote the cultures and history of a country to the next generations and other foreigners. Also, the notion that observing pictures of historical objects on the internet is enough is invalid.