In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why do people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Around the world, the trend of purchasing groceries produced abroad instead of local ones is growing significantly. This can be explained by different environmental conditions and the cost of the products themselves. However, to boost consumption of regional products, it is needed to start major advertising campaigns. To begin with, one of the main reasons for the favour of imported food is the incapacity to grow some fruits or vegetables because of the climate. For instance, mangoes are usually transported from southern regions as soil and weather in northern areas cannot provide the necessary conditions for sustainable growth. Another factor for this phenomenon might be the cost price. It is likely to be cheaper to grow some vegetables in their natural environment and then transport them to other places, in comparison with the creation of artificial greenhouses and adding fertilizers for taste improvement in those areas. To nudge people to consume local food, several measures could be implemented. Firstly, raising awareness about the benefits of regional products through advertising or educational campaigns may shift consumer preferences. As an example, the government can support farmers financially and develop special venues for markets and food festivals, where the nutritious substances of local food would be promoted. Secondly, the allocation of extra money from the budget can be sufficient for the farms’ development and renovations. Investing in agricultural research may improve the standards of quality of locally produced food and ensure the customers of its merits. In conclusion, while people are opting for imported products influenced by financial factors, there are some potential solutions, such as agricultural development, to enhance the intake of local food.