Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

Nowadays, everything we buy from shops is packed in plastic, like bags, bottles, and food packets. The excessive use of plastic is adversely affecting not only the land but also the ocean. The harmful effects such as non-biodegradable plastic waste menace and the threat to marine life. However, we can solve this problem through the intervention of suitable government policies and cooperation of the people. To begin with, plastic materials are difficult to recycle and non-biodegradable. It will take numerous years to biodegrade plastic scraps collected at landfills. As a result, there is a chance of the plastic waste to flow into the nearby water bodies and subsequently to the ocean. Hence, it poses a threat to marine life especially endangered species such as whales, and dolphins. For instance, it came to my notice that the death of dolphins due to the swallowing plastic waste was reported in mainstream newspapers. In addition, plastic waste abandoned in public places becomes a breeding house for mosquitos. This will in turn spread numerous mosquito-borne diseases like malaria, filaria, chikungunya, etcetera. Indeed, adequate measures by the government can certainly mitigate the unabated usage of plastic. Government should promulgate legislation to ban certain grades of plastics and should give impetus to manufacturing units giving up plastic coverings. For instance, the Government of Kerala in 2021 banned certain grades of plastics that are used as carry bags and introduced incentive schemes for manufacturing units to give up plastic coverings. Furthermore, the attitude of the masses also should change accordingly, like starting using reusable paper or cloth carry bags, and stopping using products covered in plastic. To conclude, by understanding the harmful effects of plastic such as a threat to aquatic life and pose a threat of contagious diseases spread by mosquitos, the panacea for the issue is Government intervention by promulgating legislation and initiating incentive schemes to give up usage of plastic by the public as well as industry. Hence, it is hopeful that the government of the nation will take adequate measures to alleviate the unabated usage of plastic in the days to come.