Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, more and more patients who need to take medicine to control their illnesses rather seeking other ways to decrease their pain than going to the clinics. In my opinion, I believe that the disadvantages of this situation outweigh the advantages. Firstly, medical pills which are used for the human body are checked by researchers before they are sold. However, the drugs from alternative medicines might not be protected by medical laws, so taking those medicines is likely to harm their body. For example, some of the elders in Taiwan listen to the radio selling drugs which claim that their products can help them to sleep well and even can cure cancers. After taking those pills, their illnesses do not disappear. On the contrary, their health worsens. Secondly, those drugs from unusual places might cost customers an arm and a leg. In Taiwan, every citizen can join the National Health Insurance, and you need to pay NTD$200 to get a well-diagnose and medicines when visiting the doctors. Nevertheless, those under-market drugs do not show up at the prices. Some customers still believe the unreal advertisement and spend significant money to buy pills from sellers who do not have certificates. To sum up, there are numerous ways for patients to solve their health problems instead of visiting doctors in clinics and hospitals. However, some are not legal and may only be suitable for some users. I believe the traditional method is safer than trying other less protective medicines to make them healthier.