Some people believe that countries should produce food that populations eats, and import food as less as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

As one of the main critical necessary needs of societies food has become a crucial problem for the government in recent decades. I am interested in the idea that countries should produce foods and their supply chain internally just to the extent that is not strictly dependent on a certain monopoly of countries, not more. On one hand, historically it has been proven that negotiation on the food supply chain is one of the critical aspects of most serious international deals, so countries will lose their bargaining power even in other directly unrelated fields unless they have resilient and reliable food supply alternatives. In other words, in case a country has quite enough alternative countries to supply each strategic food like rice, milk and else, it seems reasonable that import them or just focus on the domestication of the higher chain of the value chain like food processing industries, otherwise in case of having less option, the country should invest on primary chains like agriculture sector or grazing animals for the production of meat. On the other hand, strict and unrealistic decisions for supplying most of the food value chain internally are neither possible nor beneficial for countries. In better words, in some rare cases, such sceptical are governments about food importing, like Iran's government policies in the early 2010s,that they decide to produce most of the food supply chain by themselves internally. Such attitude toward the supply chain, in such a globalized and interwoven era, is due to the lack of practical understanding of how commercial networks inherently work especially in the food chain. Also, this could cause water-sourcing challenges in the country, since most of the agriculture and food supply chain industries are heavily water-consuming. Such policies, regardless of what the public officials want consciously or unconsciously will absolutely result in failure, exactly like what happened to Iran in the later years of the 2010s. In fact, not only did Iran fail in its policy for independence in agricultural productions like wheat production, but also most of the water resources, like Eurumia lake, have been destroyed and dried out due to such aggressive policies. To conclude, while it's crucial for the government to not be dependent on a few certain countries for food supply, taking aggressive measures like what Iran did in the 2010s will not work at all and could be detrimental to the environment.