some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out bout the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is true that a building with the dominant purpose of being a shelter hides its aesthetic and cultural values. Nevertheless, there is a progressively increasing number of residents who get more involved in studying the history of the place where they live in. Safety and interest are considered the main reasons for this trend. Improved living standard has led humans to be more conscious about their lives in general, safety in particular. Like food intake and healthcare, they care about their accommodation. To be more specific, they are curious if their buildings are well constructed or not or when they were built. It is no exaggeration to say that a rundown apartment being built 50 years ago is not a preferable choice. By researching the house or the flat they are living, people likely are able to reduce the risks of unsafety. Another reason is perhaps their hobby. Living in fast-paced life with a myriad of stress, taking up a hobby is not a bad way. In this case, what these people are doing is somehow like an explorer discovering the past and this brings them contentment and joyness. To know about the past of a building or an apartment, asking nearby neighbours, not least the elderly may be the most feasible method. These local residents are witnesses themselves who then become storytellers. Another plausible way is that they could facilitate the local library where regional-related articles are kept. To some extent, they might be lucky to find some piles of paper mentioning the construction site such as the conductor's name and construction time. These are obviously invaluable clues for them to find out more about the building's past. In conclusion, it seems to me that more people become more enthusiastic to study about their house's history because of their own safety and interests. Several methods could be helpful for their research.