Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phones and the Internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technologies? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more often?

Despite many beneficial advancements made available to the world by new technological inventions, the elderly population find it difficult to use mobile phones and the Internet. This essay will discuss how this segment of society can be benefitted from these useful technologies and also will suggest how to encourage them to use new household electronic equipment. Although there are many ways the elderly could benefit from advanced technologies, two key technologies stand out. The first key benefit is the connectivity provided by mobile phones. This will be of great use when an elderly person has mobility issues and finds an emergency. In such instances, assistance can be sought and received with relative ease when a mobile phone is in possession. The next important benefit of a smartphone connected to the Internet is that they could make calls to their friends and relatives to dispel their loneliness. The motivation to adopt to new technologies is mainly dependent on affordability and lack of knowledge. These Technologies are not available to them mainly due to their lack of disposable income. They live with limited means and don’t want to make investments in newly invented technologies. They are happy with their way of life unless such devices are given to them free of charge or at a concessional rate. Therefore, governments and community organisations should take initiatives in this regard by granting easy access and training to use them while holding awareness programmes to alleviate the root problems in adaptation. In conclusion, there are a number of benefits that can be availed to elderly people through new technological advancements and their reluctance to new equipment can be diminished by providing easy access.