In more and more countries, people choose to give money on special occasions rather than giving gifts chosen personally. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or a negative development?

No one can deny that some people believe that giving cash on a special occasion rather than giving a gift selected personally is a good idea, while others prefer to think that gifting an item with their own selection will make them feel special as it shows, we know the person's like and dislike. It is important to admit that both views have their own benefits. This essay, will discuss the possible reasons that support each view, and what perk they bring to society. On the one hand, the option to think that fund could be a better present than any product, has its benefits for many convincing reasons. Most importantly, the commodity which we are gifting might not be liked by the individual and it could get wasted and make them unhappy. The perfect example to illustrate is the human who doesn't like reading if receives a book as a giveaway will be kept in the corner of the room and never get the honour it deserves. Another key reason is that the gift could be a product which is undervalued by the receiver. A good example is a smartphone having a different price on different portals and its price could vary from the location where it is bought at the time it is procured and the time when it is received the prices could differ drastically and keep less value in the receiver's eyes. Furthermore, it is also important to mention that, money could be used in many ways and might fulfil the current urgent need of the receiver which will ultimately lead to happiness. For instance, a man struggling with a financial crisis could receive the amount as a present and it could help him get the stuff which he really needs and it can put a smile on his face which could be priceless. On the other hand, despite the above argument, other people choose to believe that offering an item of personal choice has also its advantages for obvious reasons. Firstly, to show your real emotion and express the connection, presenting the thing of your own choice could be the best option. A good interpretation of this is when you tribute to a loved one knowing all the likes and dislikes could make them feel special. Secondly, gifts are priceless and giving payment could show value when gifted to someone and the somebody could feel offended. The best example is giving capital to your girlfriend could keep less value in her eyes than gifting a product of her choice as emotion could be expressed here properly. In conclusion, it seems to me that gifting money could be a good idea because the perk outweighs its drawbacks on the whole. Wealth could give immediate support to the needs of that person rather than an item which is not of great use to him.