Some people think that youngsters should get involved in unpaid work, while others oppose as it may affect their career. Discuss both the sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include and relevant examples.

Is involvement of youngsters in unpaid work reasonable or could it affect their career? For the longest time in history youngsters have been used as a cheap source of labor. It is believed that a child can work as much as an adult, while being paid less. Till this day it is still common for some poverty-stricken countries to go around the law and involve children in hard work. I disagree that involvement of youngsters in many different aspects is acceptable, because it is unacceptable to take advantage of a younger person who still hasn’t fully developed his self-conscious mind. One justification would be that people who think that youngsters should involve themselves in unpaid work don’t see the possibility of ruining the youngster's childhood. Most of people who decide that their children should work from a young age, are parents who want their children to be successful. It is a popular misconception that youngsters who start working from an early age will be up to speed with the older children. It may be true, but by doing that to a youngster from an early age will create a barrier between the childhood and the adolescence. Also, the child will not experience the importance of freedom and creativity, while starting to work from an early age. Personally, I also believe that youngsters who do not get paid for their work will lose a sense of motivation to do something for a reward. It will make them unmotivated to try harder in school, because the grade wouldn’t be worth anything to them. A further reason not to involve youngsters in unpaid work would be that they won’t be able to do tasks given to them properly due to the lack of experience. Supporters of this type of youngster involvement in unpaid work believe that working should be beneficial to the growing child in order to deter them from becoming lazy and unproductive members part of the community. However, there is very little evidence to suggest that work from young age is beneficial for the future. In conclusion, involving youngsters in unpaid work is unethical and, in my opinion, ineffective, both for work and career reasons. That said, it would be useful to talk with the children and get to know what they would want to do for a job and what kind of a payment would suit them the best. I strongly believe that involvement of youngsters in unpaid work should be based on communication between the people and their children.