Doing an enjoyable activity with a child is better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, there are a variety of methods to encourage the development of juveniles, for example, reading. However, some claim that reading is not as effective as learning from joining fun activities. I agree with the statement, and my reasons will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, as a passive learning activity, reading is only able to improve boys’ and girls’ intellectual potentials, such as memory, imagination, and language, whereas it fails to develop many essential skills. For example, letting juveniles read a book all day cannot enhance their capability of socializing and physical development due to the fact that they only sit still without any interaction with other people. In this respect, it is obvious that reading is a limited way of learning since it cannot bring out children’s ability in every aspect. On the other hand, participation in entertaining activities can be active learning because it allows learners to have more engagement and interaction by doing enjoyable things. For instance, many summer camps for children have activities like doing an adventure sport or solving puzzles with their friends, making youngsters develop their physical movement, critical thinking, and socializing at the same time. With this perspective, it is apparent that doing activities learners enjoy can improve their skills in general. In conclusion, although reading is a good way to improve children’s intellectual abilities, I am convinced that joining enjoyable activities can provide more chances for them to develop every essential ability in overall aspects.