In some countries fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their product. Do you think it’s a positive or negative development of children ?

Nowadays, advertisement is interwoven with human life. There are people who claim that manufacturers and distributors of junk food, pay money to educational institutions for the promotion of food items on their premises. I strongly believe that this trend has a negative impact on students. I will discuss the reasons in the essay. There are various reasons that children should avoid junk food. To begin with, These foods are easily available, tasty and cheap in price. However, they are low in nutrition and proteins. They contain a high amounts of salt, sugar and oil, which are the prominent factors for deteriorating health. Secondly, these foods are tempting and hence one can develop a habit of eating these foods on a routine basis, which could hamper the pockets of parents. Due to the easy availability of junk foods, the importance of home cook food is depleting. For example, In India, the majority of people are living in nuclear families and all the elder members are earning hence they can not cook for the child in this situation student has to depend on the food available in the canteen of the school. Furthermore, educational organizations should understand the importance of students ' health. For the sake of money, authorities should not hamper the health of students. Guidelines should be announced by the authorities and strict monitoring is required for the promotion of food on school premises as, manufacturers should use whole wheat bread instead of refined wheat bread. They can introduce a variety of salads which attract the students. Moreover, they can use fresh juice rather than carbohydrate drinks. Overall, I believe that schools should not give permission to every restaurant or supermarket to promote their food products in the canteen. If they want to sell their food, they have to clear the prerequisite requirements of the authorities.