Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that in this day and age the advancement of technology enables people to approach various cultures and lifestyles at the click of a button. Although this is true, grasping the cultures and customs of another country via a computer screen is vastly different from actually experiencing them first -hand. On the one hand, the prevalence of the internet has driven the possibility of observing the lives of people around the world without paying a real visit. Being visualised on various virtual platforms in form of images and videos coupled with precise descriptions, traditional and cultural activities of different regions are viable for everyone to discover, as long as a wireless connection is equipped. For example, Netflix has run a street food series from which audiences can learn about the cooking process and reviews from numerous famous critics. Besides, this exploration method facilitates people to experience ways of living in multiple countries at a more affordable cost. For example, instead of spending approximately 60 million dongs for a tour to a European nation, Vietnamese can go sightseeing online from their home sweet home to the whole Europe region at the cost of a monthly internet fee. On the other hand, I agree with those who take the view that distant observance cannot exert the same experience gained from travelling. Currently, a significant number of online contents are unverifiable and usually exaggerated by the author for attention. Taking India as an example, it is notorious as a poor and unhygienic country with a high rate of crime, whereas, in reality, it has diversified people and poverty and prosperity coexist there. Consequently, without an excursion to authentic India, internet users are highly likely to form a misleading perspective of the country. Moreover, visiting a nation in person helps visitors soak up the lively and convivial atmosphere as well as immerse in its traditions, which can never be provided by videos or images no matter how high quality they are. For example, reading or watching a celebration or a local delicacy cannot exert the same feeling as participating in that event or eating the festival staples. In conclusion, while the proliferation of technology makes it possible for people to see lives in different places, there are features that can only be obtained through a real visit.