Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, thanks to some events, there is a strong bond between countries. One of these activities is international events. Although some people believe that joining these events is very beneficial for countries, others think that the government should spend money on more important issues instead of international organizing. I am inclined to believe that global organizations can be bridges for various types of countries and cultures. Firstly, some undeveloped countries should prioritize other problems such as economy, administration or education. Although the interaction of other countries is important, some issues are more significant than others. If the government participates in these organizations without correcting these problems, existing problems can be bigger. For example, if Syria wants to join the Worldcup, it should spend a lot of money. However, the government has not had enough budget for joining. In addition, they can't join until the war is stopped. Thus, some states put global events on the back burner. Secondly, joining these events provides a lot of benefits such as improving external relations, recognition of own culture and national unity. In other words, when a country wants to participate in any international events, all the people who live in this country will support it and be united. For example, when Turkey decided to participate international basketball tournament, the public gave support to their national team. Moreover, thanks to the match, they describe their cultures so other countries are able to gain insight into it. To conclude, although there are some people thinking that participation in global organizations is a waste of money, these events are so important for states due to interacting with other countries and providing nations together. Furthermore, it is predictable that the number of countries which participate in international events will increase over time.