In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

These days, parents seem to be more concerned about their children's bright future as compared to the past. Convincing youngsters that they can achieve anything through hard work is becoming extremely common in some countries. This motivation can have advantages while having its' negative impacts too, and in this essay, I will shed light on both. The obvious advantage is that someone teaches kids that they can do anything in life boosting their confidence and not letting them give up on anything soon. There are certain things which require more effort and consistency and if a child leaves something undone, he would not develop an interest in anything. An illustration of this is that some sports like Cricket, require more practice to become a good player and if someone does not practice enough, he would not be able to play well. As a result, a continuous boost in confidence will enable him to put in more effort and eventually get success in it. On the other hand, there are some downsides to this approach as well. Some individuals are special and they do not have the same level of physical or mental energy as others. Moreover, parents need to understand the capability of their children without enforcing them to do something. For instance, some adults want their teenagers to become a doctor or an engineer without realizing their potential and preference. As a consequence, if they do not do well in that area, it might shatter their confidence thinking that they are not brilliant enough. To put it in a nutshell, motivating kids in a positive way should be normalized instead of forcing them to do it. In short, they would lead a satisfied and happy life.