Topic: Some people think that the most important function of music is to help people reduce stress.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indisputable that music influences people's mood and according to the type we listen to we can become more relaxed or more enthusiastic. I strongly agree with this argument. This essay will present several reasons that justify why this is my opinion. Firstly, it is argued by a large number of psychologists and psychiatrists that music can be used as a tool in the treatment of several mental illnesses, especially depression and anxiety. Therapists often expose their patients to calm sounds so that they can relax and engage better with their treatment. For example, a large number of doctors reported great results after recommending that their anxious patients would listen to a sound they found calming before going into a situation that caused them anxiety. Secondly, for many years now it has been proved that music has a clear significant role in our development even before we are born. It is a common practice in many communities for mothers to expose their unborn children to classic music when they were still in the womb. This helped the babies bond with the outside world. For instance, according to several experts babies whose mothers used belly buds during pregnancy had a calmer temperament as children. In conclusion, I believe that music is undeniably influential in how we choose to face our daily life. Furthermore, different types of music can invoke distinctive emotions, so it is only obvious that a serene sound will mitigate anxiety and increase relaxation, while a cheery one will boost one's energy.