Write about the following topic. Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent times, everything around humans are evolving and developing. Online platforms like Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook are becoming more popular amongst the population of the country. In this essay, I will discuss the bad side of social media. To begin with, online platform has been used for daily communication and these are having a negative impact on society. Firstly, online scams are happening. To elaborate, teenagers are making fake profiles to get money from users by giving huge discounts on their favourite products. Secondly, open blackmailing is happening on Instagram and Facebook with their private pictures. For Instance, Delhi police have arrested a girl who is asking for money from boys by blackmailing them to share their personal pictures in the college. As a result, cybercrime is increasing and authorities are not taking any legal actions. To add more, social media is addictive to the generation,especially kids who are giving priority to these applications over their studies or careers. In other words, toddlers can be seen using Snapchat or Instagram to communicate with their friends or taking pictures and videos to upload them. They are refusing to go outside to play or meet someone because they are interacting through this. For example, a group of students from Stanford University reported that 67- 70% of students are spending time on Instagram. Therefore, excessive usage of apps like these can give many health diseases at a very young age. To sum up, in my,opinion social media has more bad effects than good by playing with the health of children and increasing cybercrime.