We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

The media in general, news in particular is unquestionably a dominant source to get updated with the latest information. Nevertheless, journalists do not earn the complete trust of audiences. Personally, I think it is justified to understand that, and several traits including being honest and brave are prerequisites for a successful journalist. The reason why people find it hard to believe those who work in the media is derived from the truth that these reporters do not always tell stories exactly as they are. It is likely due to the strict censorship that they opt to modify their stories to fit into regulations. For example, excessive violence is undoubtedly unsuitable for the young; thereby, writers are requested to cut the lines describing how harsh the case is or ease the story. Moreover, why they, more or less, tell their audiences only some parts of the truth with the remaining being modified is to attract more attention to the public. After getting news, reporters tend to tailor their stories with exaggeration, assumption, and bias for instance so that they have a bigger number of viewers. To succeed in this area of expertise, writers are advised to be honest to bring information to the public. If they only focus on the short-term benefit to attract more viewers by imparting wrong and well-tailored things, they would be boycotted by those audiences themselves after finding to be cheated. In addition, being courageous to be able to voice out even if being thwarted is another personality needed. A good journalist is someone to dare to write about political issues like bribery or black funds of a minister without being afraid that this could ruin his or her career, for instance. In conclusion, I would contend that it is reasonable for people not to believe journalists as they have their own pressure and obligations. However, they should be honest and brave enough to say crucial cases which are needed to be transparent to become successful.