Some museum charge entry fees while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging an entry fee outweight the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences.

Many museum requires payment from the visitors to enter rather than free. Although having people pay extra fees can be beneficial toward museum income, I believe the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages. A museum is a place where people can learn about history. It is one of the most common public spaces that has been used for educational and recreational purposes. Recently, the expense demanded before entering the museum has been applied to give money sources to the museum. The main benefit of this regulation is to help the museum's maintenance budget. For example, the National Museum in New York City is charging extra fees for the refurbishment of its building in 2024. However, visitors would think twice before visiting the museum if there were extra fees at the entry. As a public space, it is very controversial for it to require compensation from the individuals who want to visit. This is because the number of visitors can be reduced by this regulation. Furthermore, public opinion about the place can be ruined because of the payment required. A better solution for the museum to earn more earnings is advertisement. For example, the naming rights of the Korean National Museum have been given to Samsung as one of the biggest Korean companies today. Hence, the museum can get funds from Samsung while Samsung can get more recognition. In conclusion, even though entry fees can be useful for building care, I believe there are better ways to accumulate revenue without charging cash to the visitors