Many people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that there are only small differences in earning between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that ensuring a similar salary among people of all classes would result in societal happiness. In contrast, this writer thinks that the adoption of the practice would make people reluctant to achieve higher education and will cause dissatisfaction in the community. In the first place, the reason why individuals reach for higher achievements and greatness is due to the fact that they want to pursue a better life. What is more, many residents with poorer backgrounds gain immense ambition to alter the living conditions that they currently have. During the process, society gains an enormous amount of benefit by having individuals with this kind of determination, leading to innovation and growth. Conversely, when there is no difference in payment, the goal simply vanishes as well as the great mindset. The education system of Vietnam bears a similarity, in which students would be classified in a specific rank that would benefit the child in their future job hunting. Another aspect to think about the proposal is the reaction of the rich, those people would go against the idea because of its favoritism. The success and money of higher class does not occur suddenly, but rather it is the hardship that was endured finally leading to the sweet result. While the rich person put in a fair amount of effort in order to achieve respect and high salary, now others without any adequate quality could also enjoy the same privilege. This could result in worse performance at work and raise opposing forces against the authority which can be observed through multiple protests the French people have. Taking all points into consideration, it is clear that ensuring little differences does more harm than good to the society's harmony. With that, this essay disagrees with the proposal because of reduction in innovative mindset and possible arising insurgency activities.