Test and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Educational systems, especially senior high schools in many nations, are focused on tests and examinations. Examinations could improve the study habits of students. Despite their advantages, I assume that exams have more flaws that decrease learning quality. First and foremost, almost all countries require secondary school students to pass the final school exam as the requirement to enter a university, such as the national examination in Indonesia. They require the student to master the topic to be able to pass the tests. Thus, the students are motivated to study hard so they can achieve their desired scores. By studying hard, they could also gain new knowledge that might be beneficial in the future. In real life, some students take extra courses in the academy as a way to successfully face exams. Others also spend their time practising similar test questions for almost 10 to 12 hours per day which somehow impact students ’ mental well-being. However, tests have a further impact on the quality of the educational system. They create a bias on the purpose of learning. Today, learning does not mean understanding the materials but only answering questions and passing the tests. Once the students finish the test, they tend to forget all that they have learned. In addition, exams also influence the health of the student. For instance, they tend to have little time to sleep because they keep preparing for the test. As a student, I experience stress over tests, and I believe that there are others like me. In conclusion, centring tests as the main feature of educational systems increase the student's motivation and knowledge. However, the disadvantages are more varied and cannot be ignored as they impact the quality of education and the student's health.