Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether or not punishment should be fixed for each crime. Although there are some advantages of fixed punishments, I believe that it is better to judge each crime individually. On the one hand, there are some arguments for having specific punishments for each crime. First of all, it is easy to apply to every criminal activity. Besides, it is a fair justice system, and everyone could be aware of the punishment so people would be scared of committing crimes. As a result, fixed punishments could deter criminal activities. Dubai law takes as an example that if anyone commits robbery their hand should be cut down that is why there no one can have that much courage for any kind of robbery. And top of that, processing times of court trials and cases would be reduced since there is a pre-defined penalty. On the other hand, my writings argue that the circumstances of a crime and the criminal motivation should influence the punishment. Such as, murder committed as an act of self-defence is not the same as murder committed to terrorise people. Similarly, a father breaking the driving rule to save her daughter's life at the hospital is not the same as a professional crime. Finally, in emergency cases, if people break the rules, the punishment should not be strict compared to fixed judgment. In conclusion, despite the advantages of fixed penalty, it seems to me that each crime should be judged taking both the circumstances and motivation into account.