Many people like to eat unhealthy food even though they know it’s bad for them. Why? What are the most effective ways to improve people’s eating habits?

Despite different awareness campaigns, many people choose to eat unhealthy and junk food. This is due to the ease of availability of junk food while another reason to have an unhealthy diet is that people are addicted. Imposing new taxes on junk food and running an effective campaign, are the best possible ways to combat the habit of people's eating. Firstly, when people get back to their homes after office work, neither they have time nor energy to cook food for themselves. In these circumstances, they rush toward fast- food restaurants. Secondly, some people love to eat junk food regardless of its deteriorating effects on health. They consider that burgers and pizzas are part of their life and it's almost impossible for them to survive without junk food. Imposing hefty taxes on unhealthy diets is rated as the most effective way to change people's eating habits. As restaurants will pass these taxes to consumers and consequently, it will be difficult for many customers to afford junk food. The prime example of this scenario is the prices of dry fruits as these fruits are more expensive, and only a limited number of people can purchase them. Furthermore, the government would be able to generate more money, and that money could be spent for the betterment of the healthcare system. moreover, the other significant way to improve the healthy eating trend is to educate people. The government can run campaigns on multiple media to spread awareness among different age groups. An effective campaign should be able to elaborate that how junk food is destroying our health, and due to this habit, our healthcare system can choke anytime soon. The prime example of this scene is how the government educated people about the harms of cigarettes through different advertisements. Once people know the dangers of consuming unhealthy food, there is a ray of hope that they can abandon their poor diet routine. To put it in a nutshell, taste and ease of availability of junk food are major causes of unhealthy eating habits of people and the best possible ways to overcome this habit are to levy new taxes on junk food and make people more aware of the dangers it can cause.