Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There are many ways to encourage students in school, such as awards and compliments. In my opinion, grades are always the most important and effective way to motivate students to work harder. There are two reasons for this, which I will explain in the following essay. First, students who are graded acquire more comprehensive knowledge of academic subjects. When students have the opportunity to receive grades, they spend more time on their assignments and absorb more information about the subject. On the other hand, students who do not have to worry about their grades will not put forth much effort and will have only a superficial understanding of their subjects. My own experience is a compelling example of this. During my undergraduate studies, I had to do a project paper in chemistry. According to the syllabus, the project work was to be half of my course grade, so I worked diligently and carefully. I am sure students work hard to get good grades from their professors. Second, grades motivate students because they are a way to determine which individuals in the group are brilliant. Grades are assigned systematically so that they clearly show which students in a class are the best and brightest. For example, in my first year as a Bachelor of Science, we had to write a paper that was not graded. I completed my paper without any effort. In contrast, I spent hours in the library searching for relevant papers and books for my project paper, which was graded. In today’s competitive environment, grades definitely motivate students to do their best. In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades encourage students to learn more and more. This is because they force and motivate students to study harder.