Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In the contemporary world, scoring good grades is considered to be an integral part of one's education. Moreover, some students are motivated by good marks to work harder at school. Whereas, others focus on knowledge and consider this race to be of secondary importance. This essay will intend to analyze these two perceptions. In addition, it will explain why I'm in favour of the premise before my conclusion is reached. On one hand, the proponents of this argument justify that attaining higher scores gives them a certain feeling of accomplishment. Furthermore, this sense of healthy competition creates an atmosphere of relentless studying and learning. Hence, igniting a fire of remarkable urge for knowledge in their hearts. On the other hand, the youngsters on the contrary opine state that the true purpose of education is to grasp newer concepts and learn newer things. Additionally, they argue that all human beings aren't made equal. Therefore, measuring the capability of all pupils using the same testing system is rather unfair. This constant hustle causes depression and a lot of other mental illnesses and is detrimental to their health. For instance, I'm familiar with certain incidents where a bunch of medical admissions, unable to cope with the pressure of maintaining high scores, jumped off a building and committed suicide. In conclusion, I believe that having a fair amount of challenge in educational institutes, especially in terms of competition among the students, as long as it stays positive, is paramount towards the upbringing of our young ones. As it teaches them the importance of resilience in their lives. However, strict checks must be put in place to ensure that it does not cause any harm, both physical as well as mental, to our children.