Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced.

What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Over the last few years, there has been a growing concern about selling other nations’ products. It has brought not only people ’s attention but also debatable issues. It is thought by some people that countries demand other nations’ products to allow people to have plenty of benefits, however, drawbacks can also be caused by it. This essay will talk about the pros and cons of this phenomenon with reasons and examples. On one side of the argument, some people are convinced that the drawbacks of providing different countries’ foods or snacks to customers considerably outweigh its advantages. The main reason for believing this is that it affects local farmers. In Switzerland, for example, the number of farmers decreased by 30 percent since they started commerce with Japan and China in 2000. Besides, it is also possible to say that global importing has environmental problems. Products have to be transported thousands of miles and huge amounts of fossil fuels are burnt to achieve this. It can cause ocean pollution. Therefore, it is no defense to say that several people will be given several disadvantages from importing foods or objects. Despite these disadvantages, it is also probable to make the opposing case. One of the most benefits is that a country might import the resources that they do not have from other countries. For instance, Korea lacks spices for producing instant foods, so they have to import spices from China. Another positive is that people often have this opinion since they have more choices. As the country imports products, people can cook different kinds of country’s foods and they can wear different nation’s clothes. I believe that it is one part of sharing cultures. As a result, We should not forget the advantages of selling imported stocks. To conclude, while there are beneficial points of can use lacked resources and enjoying a different kinds of foods and objects that are imported, some can be lost as a result. I have discussed the pros and cons which explain my standpoints. From what has been discussed above, I may conclude that I firmly believe that there are more benefits than harms to this phenomenon.