Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is not exaggerated to say that we are living in a modern world where anyone can have a chance to live abroad. A multicultural world is great but there are always pros and cons. And living in a foreign country where you have to speak a new language which is not your mother tongue can lead to serious social problems, as well as practical problems. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement as I believe that everything works through a good connection in communicating. First of all, miscommunication at work does not only have impacts on your own but also on your whole group. To illustrate, as an employee at work, a small misunderstanding in conveying information can lead to low effectiveness which deteriorates the working pace of an entire department. And at school, low study performance will be unavoidable as a result of a low understanding level in academic fields. How can students achieve high scores when they don’t understand what the lecturers say? Last but not least, social issues will occur as they can’t strike up a conversation with their neighbors or friends at work or school. Being unable to share your thoughts and feelings with surrounding people may lead to poor mental health. As an example, a friend of mine once studied abroad in Canada for 2 months in a summer study program at her school. Unfortunately, she didn’t speak English well so she couldn’t understand what native people say and couldn’t convey her ideas at school so the process was not so efficient. In conclusion, although there are negative factors in speaking a foreign language in an abroad country, a chance to work or study in a new environment is a treasury and everyone can prevent those bad effects by getting themselves total preparation with social skills and a firm foundation of knowledge in the language spoken in that country.