The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

The view that the arts, such as art, music, and theatre, are vital to society, is held by the majority of the population. I think the arts cannot be excluded from our modern lifestyles since they act as the largest source of entertainment. I also believe that it is a good idea to include the arts in the school curriculum because this is a great way to help students discover their passion for the arts. Firstly, art, music, theatre, and so on make up the majority of the things we consume for entertainment. For example, statistics recently made public by the government of the United States show that the majority of Americans spend most of the time they spend for entertainment watching movies and TV series. On the other hand, sports is the leisure activity that Americans spend the least time on. Thus, it is undeniable that the arts still play a major role in our modern way of life. Secondly, including the arts in the school curriculum greatly helps students realise their passion for the arts. For instance, a study conducted by the US Department of Education demonstrates a correlation between an introduction of the arts into the school curriculum and an increase in the number of college students majoring in the arts. Therefore, it is beneficial for the arts to be part of the school curriculum. In conclusion, the proportion of the arts -related entertainment has proven that the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles. In addition, for pupils to discover their interest in the arts, it should be made sure that the school curriculum includes the arts.