Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern society, more and more people are trying to solve their health problems with alternative medicines and treatments rather than going to visit their usual doctor. This is a negative development that makes people spend extra money on treatments that do not have a guaranteed effect. It not only gives people extra financial burden but could also make their health problems exacerbate. Alternative treatments are usually not covered by health insurance, so people have to pay extra money for these medicines and treatments. These would mean a staggering bill for people with chronic diseases who need constant treatment and doctor appointments. People would therefore be more financially strained when dealing with their health problems. Moreover, these alternative treatments and medicines do not always guarantee positive outcomes or effects. Patients' physical conditions may deteriorate as they stop going to their usual doctor, and if their alternative medicines are not doing the trick that they are supposed to, they may be faced with a bigger problem than the one they already have. When patients leave their usual hospitals for alternative treatments, they might also miss the most appropriate time for treatment. In other words, they are likely to miss the best time they could be treated with scientifically proven remedies. In conclusion, the growing popularity of alternative medicines and treatments among people with health problems is not a positive phenomenon as it could place a bigger financial burden on people, and their health problems might also get worse.