The problem of litter on the streets of many towns and cities is getting worse. Why are we seeing more litter on our streets, and what can be done about it?

In many places, littering in the streets is a common problem worldwide, and it is becoming worse and worse. Several reasons cause this problem, and there are some practical ways to solve it. On the one hand, several reasons cause people to litter on the streets around the world. Firstly, careless people around us always like to throw refuse from their hands without consciousness. Secondly, it is so hard to find a rubbish bin in some cities that it has a particular policy about garbage. For example: in some areas in Taiwan, it is tough to find a rubbish bin, and people can’t dispose of their trash correctly. Finally, excessive packaging of products and disposable products leads to produce more waste to appear. On the other hand, there are several practical ways to solve the litter problem. Firstly, education is a fundamental method to advertise that littering is improper behavior and harms our environment. For example, in Hong Kong, it puts more resources in schools to educate the students about littering in the streets is not good behavior and tries to send this message to citizens as well through different channels of media advertising. Secondly, it is more convenient for people to toss rubbish if adding more bins on the streets. Finally, punishment is a worse but more effective way to forbid people from littering. In conclusion, although the littering problem is widespread in many cities, there are still several effective ways that can be used to improve that situation.