Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Cities are important to people so the government spend a lot of money on the organization of cities. Although some believe that the plan of cities should be beautiful, others think that their functionality should be prioritised. I am inclined to believe that function of cities is more significant than their design. On the one hand, everyone wants the place where they live to look nice because the city they live in affects their moods. In the other words, when you visit any city, you initially look at the planning of cities such as parks, buildings and roads. In addition, people prefer to visit cities which have a good design so the more money cities will earn. For instance, Beyoğlu which is a famous city in Turkey has various old-designed structures and buildings. People visit there to take photos. On the other hand, the government should give more importance to regional functions. There are a lot of people living in cities, so if they put it on the back burner, cities will not be useful to people. For example, many transportation services look older and ugly. However, they provide to transport people over long distances. Moreover, some skyscrapers are built in the centre of the city to fulfil people's need for shelter. Thus, it is more important for cities to be functional due to the high quality of life. To conclude, whether a region's design is more important or not is a controversial issue. From my perspective, the region should be planned according to its function because this affects people's life. Furthermore, it is predictable that the number of countries which prioritise the cities ' functions will increase over time.