Deforestation provides a lot of needed material for furniture making and construction despite the drastic environmental impacts. Do you think the advantages of deforestation outweigh the disadvantages?

The discussion of deforestation is surely one that begs the question of exactly how advantageous it truly is. In my opinion, due to the high costs borne by the environment, deforestation has more cons overall. Although the apparent ecological issues do present a challenge, the phenomenon has its importance for businesses. Take for instance the construction, paper or furniture industry; all of them have a heavy reliance on wood, with deforestation being the only resort. Millions of people are employed in such industries and billions of dollars are generated by businesses as well as tax dollars which overwhelmingly justifies the action. Nevertheless, one way that deforestation can be catastrophic is due to the removal of trees. These very trees maintain an apropos ecological balance and doing away with them can be extremely adverse. For example, all the oxygen being pumped out by trees and the Carbon Dioxide that is absorbed, leading to cleaner air, will be negatively affected by the removal of such greenery. Consequently, air quality will be harshly damaged. Finally, another notable factor that presents a detriment is the use of fossil fuels to accomplish deforestation. Given that chainsaws, tractors and similar heavy machinery is employed to undergo deforestation, a plethora of gas is consumed in the process. This contributes to further emissions of greenhouse gases as well as depletes our existing reserves, hence, yielding yet another damaging environmental consequence. In conclusion, both sides present strong arguments; nonetheless, given the debilitating impact on the atmosphere, the disadvantages dominate the discussion. If deforestation is equalled by similar afforestation efforts, the detractors of the former could be satiated.