The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, with the growth of the fast food industry, citizens could manage their time better in such dynamic lifestyles. This phenomenon holds certain merits and demerits to its consumers and the market where I believe the latter outweighs the former. On the one hand, for frequently occupied individuals, junk food is one of the most optimal options that could fit into their tight schedules. Not only does it save loads of time but also keeps them going for the rest of the day as opposed to hearty meals. Thus, it helps boost productivity and efficiency at work and study. For instance, in America, drive-throughs at local fast- food restaurants are always packed since they could serve up to hundreds of customers every hour. Therefore, students and business people, who treasure every minute, could have a quick breakfast or lunch without having to allocate so much time to eat. On the other hand, in a long run, this phenomenon will exert negative health-related issues to consumers. According to scientific research, the process of making fast food involves a great amount of chemicals and preservatives, which are detrimental to human well-being. A great portion of cancer cases has proven junk food to be the main cause, and this figure is still increasing. Additionally, with the rapid rise of convenience food companies, soon the market of traditional dishes and healthy local cuisine will be dominated. This will result in the lost of culinary customs of the country since few people opt for fast food rather than their traditional counterparts. In the foreseeable future, the food industry will collapse when junk food enterprises monopolize the market. In conclusion, despite the fact that fast food is a fundamental factor that helps facilitate people's daily life, its downsides are still greater than the benefits it brings