The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is true that technological advancements have significantly contributed to reducing the incidence of crime. Personally, I agree with the idea that technology supports law enforcers in restraining and resolving criminal activities. Firstly, crime prevention can be enhanced thanks to technological developments. What this means is that through the use of technology, crime attempts can be deterred. A prime illustration of this point is the invention of cutting-edged outdoor cameras to avoid burglars. In particular, this kind of camera has infrared night vision and also adjustable motion detection which can watch blind spots. As a result, this would minimize criminal intrusion, thereby improving inhabitants’ safety and avoiding loss of life and property. Another advantage of technology is the use of high-tech devices that help detect and solve crime cases faster. Notorious prisoners, for example, often tend to detect security holes in prison to escape. Compared to the old days, prisoner management and prison security were solely undertaken by jailers and without technological interventions. To resolve this problem, technological engineers have invented GPS tracking and electronic monitoring systems that improve the ability to track the movements of inmates both inside and outside the prison grounds. This can aid in effective supervision and deterrence against escape attempts. In conclusion, I fully support the view that crime prevention and resolution have made remarkable progress with technological assistance. The government needs to allocate more national budget for technology improvement and innovation with the aim of curbing and solving potential criminal activities.