In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that today more and more people buy from the internet instead of going to physical stores. I believe such a trend can be both positive and negative. On the one hand, shopping online has several advantages. Firstly, such a method of purchase usually offers convenience. Customers can easily buy items from the comfort of their homes or workplaces and it is also uncomplicated to cancel transactions if they regret the selected goods. As a result, people will prefer this prevalent mode of shopping as it helps them decide how they will spend their time on other life activities. Secondly, online stores can give consumers the ability to compare products and their prices. The selling companies show the full range of products they have available to attract customers with different tastes and needs as well as extremely competitive prices. This eventually allows buyers to choose from a variety of models after comparing the features and prices of the products on display and deciding what to buy. For example, some commercial platforms in Nigeria such as Jumia, Konga and Wakanow are currently successful for their diversity of stores, products, and prices that can satisfy different classes of consumers. On the other hand, there are many setbacks of doing shopping on the Internet despite the advantages mentioned above. Fraud is the biggest downside of this. Many websites often show some great products at attractive promotions that seem too good to be true to draw attention from people and then sell fake products instead of genuine items. Customers will either end up receiving the fake product or not receiving the product at all, and it could ruin their shopping experience. Another negative point can be a delay in delivery. Unlike traditional marketplaces where customers can merely try and receive the product at the same time, which does not happen in online purchases that normally they must wait from a few hours to several working days or months depending on the distance and shipping policy. In an emergency, if people need a certain good immediately, the best option is still physical stores. In conclusion, although shopping online can bring many benefits for people in modern life, offline stores are still an adequate place for them to browse useful merchandise and experience the shopping atmosphere.