Shopping online is becoming much popular in today’s world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

One of the most prevalent trends in this contemporary world is the cumulative increase in people buying merchandise and services online. Although making a purchase through a seller’s website makes the buyer's life convenient, it also brings in many disadvantages such as addiction and less social interaction. Both pros and cons of this topic will be carefully analysed before constructing an inference. On the one hand, nowadays, a large number of individuals prefer spending money on online shops. The main benefit is that people have less time to go out shopping because of either employment or personal commitments. Another factor is that shoppers can compare and find a bargain for them without physically visiting multiple retail shops. For example, clothing brands such as Nike and Prada have 70% clearance offerings of popular items on weekdays through their websites which is not possible at in-person stores, making customers buy their products. As a result, it is evident why many people gravitate towards buying goods on websites. On the other hand, investing time and money in materials electronically has multiple disadvantages. The primary problem with this is while searching for suitable products individuals spend significant time, gradually making them addicted to phone or laptop screens. In addition, the majority of people who shop through computers generally do it alone themselves. This makes them more vulnerable and scared of having a social discussion in a physical shopping centre. For instance, studies conducted by the Australian Online Cyber Hub found that individuals shopping on their mobile phones spend on average 60% more time looking at their screens than customers who shop at real shops. As a consequence, it is apparent that why buying possessions on computers has drawbacks. In summary, following the analysis of the positives and negatives of the increasing trend of online shopping, it is clear that lack of time is a big motivator and undoubtedly people are getting addicted to purchasing in virtual shops. Further, it is predicted that this development is going to continue in the future as well.