A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Some people believe that improving living standards in a nation usually only benefits people in cities rather than the countryside. The main problem this causes is mass urbanisation leading to social issues and underdeveloped rural communities lacking access to education and primary healthcare. The possible solutions to address these issues include introducing fair government policy measures and creating more economic opportunities in rural areas. Urbanisation would lead to an increase in social issues, such as crimes in cities. Due to the high unemployment rate in cities, many people forced to move there from rural areas could turn to criminal activities for money if they cannot find jobs to feed their families. Furthermore, inequality in the development of the countryside would lead to the locals lacking access to fundamental rights, for instance, good schools and hospitals. As a result, the rural citizens would suffer and could even die from untreated health issues due to poor facilities. In addition, some of their children would not even receive proper education to build a better future for themselves. For example, many children in rural parts of Africa are uneducated because of a lack of educational facilities. There would be many potential solutions to alleviate this issue, the two main ones being fair government policies and more significant economic development in rural areas. Government should allocate the necessary funds to equally develop the countryside, such as well-equipped classrooms and health centres. If people in rural areas have access to these basic facilities, they, too, could have a decent standard of living. Moreover, the government should promote the private sector to invest in these areas by providing lucrative tax incentives, which would improve the livelihood of the local residents. Based on a study in my country, the government introduced the look north policy, which provided significant tax incentives to businesses that invested in the rural northern region to create more economic opportunities for the people there. In conclusion, the government could equally prioritise raising the standard of living in rural areas, thus addressing the problems caused by unequal development. Without a doubt, this would benefit all the citizens of a country to which they have fundamental rights.