Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Plastic bags have been used to carry groceries from mart to home for more than 100 years. However, now people are more aware of its dangers and believe that these bags should not be allowed because of their contribution to terrestrial and aquatic pollution. This essay will argue how these bags have become a potential danger not only to mankind but also to marine life. Polythene bags are undoubtedly cheaper than paper bags but they cannot be recycled. People throw them away after using them once or twice without even considering that they can be harmful to the climate. Although many microorganisms possess decomposing properties, they are not able to digest these bags. For example, a paper or woven bag can be decomposed by certain kinds of bacteria but people have to burn polyester bags. Consequently, they not only pollute the land but also the air which might lead to breathing problems. Moreover, as these bags are difficult to dispose of, therefore, many people throw them into the drains, canals and rivers. When thrown in a drain or canal, they get accumulated at a certain point and eventually block the sewerage pipelines. For instance, this summer, many areas of Karachi were flooded away by rainwater because there were blockages in the sewerage system of the whole city. During the investigation, it was revealed that these pipes were blocked by plastic shopping bags. In addition to this, bags thrown into the rivers and seas are also responsible for creating some potential risks to marine life. In conclusion, this essay argued why polythene bags are a potential risk to the climate of land and marine. In my opinion, these bags should be completely forbidden as they cannot be recycled and contribute significantly to creating pollution.