You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Currently, environmental problems have become more and more critical. As is known to us, cars and other vehicles contribute a lot to the pollution of the environment and created a lot of environmental problems. It is agreed that one of the best ways to solve these problems is to increase the cost of fuel. It can be proved by analyzing the influences on the switch to public transportation and renewable energies. To begin with, increasing the cost of fuel can encourage people to take public transportation. To be exact, it is natural to compare the costs of different transportation methods, and the one balances between cost and convenience best are most likely to be adopted. Furthermore, it is undoubted that increasing the cost of fuel mainly affects private cars because the cost of public transportation ’s fuel can be shared by all the passengers, which is more affordable. Therefore, the environment will benefit from people taking public transportation more frequently if the cost of fuel increases. Also, increasing the cost of fuel can boost the development of renewable energies. More precisely, many renewable energy sources, like wind, and nuclear, are environment-friendly, but they develop slowly now as developing new technologies has to pay extra cost. Nevertheless, their developments can be faster as the increasing cost of fuel can decrease the cost gap between traditional fuel and renewable energies or even reverse their relative relation. In conclusion, it is helpful to solve some environmental problems if the cost of fuel increase because renewable energies can develop. To summarise, increasing the cost of fuel can increase the chances of public transportation and renewable energies, which is helpful to solve some environmental problems.