Question nowadays in many countries young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities.what are the reason for this? Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, the youth of many nations is opting to migrate from villages to urban areas for educational or job purposes. This essay will describe the reasoning for this movement while also evaluating if the advantages associated with the current trend outweigh the potential problems. There are several reasons why the young generation of today is moving from rural areas to big cities for their study and work. First of all, cities have better infrastructure in terms of facilities such as, public transport, roads, schools, colleges, hospitals, offices, restaurants, entertainment, etc., which attracts the youth towards the living standard of urban areas. Secondly, there are better educational and career growth opportunities in big cities that proves to be a motivation among the youth. For example, a recent study in India showed that almost 70% of the people from rural areas within the age group 18-30, moved to cities for working in the corporate offices and manufacturing plants of the multinational companies. Lastly, higher minimum wage levels and better per capita income in cities is also a contributing factor to this movement of the youth. On the contrary, there are many side effects of people leaving the rural areas which turns out to be a disadvantage for any nation as a whole. It becomes increasingly difficult to manage such large population density in cities which results into congestions on roads, increased level of noise and air pollution, overcrowding of public places, etc. Furthermore, the price of realestate will skyrocket in the city areas due to this huge influx of people as compared to the shortage of supply. This can be exemplified by the outcome of a recent survey that showed the disparity between the cost of a 2 BHK apartment in Mumbai vs a small town in Thane. In addition, the cost of living also goes up with everything in a city being much more expensive. In conclusion, I believe that from an individual standpoint there are lot of advantages for the youth to move to cities. However, from the perspective of the developement of any nation as a whole there are lot of disadvantages, hence, benefits do not outweigh the problems. It is important for the government to ensure equal opportunities and infrastructure across the country in order to have a sustainable future in the long run.