Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as sahara desserts or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists to visit such places?

It is irrefutable that globalisation has provided the access to most remote places on the planet. A few years ago, visiting places like Sahara or the Antarctic was supposed to be a distant dream, but nowadays, everyone is going on an expedition to explore the more natural parts of the world. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative impacts on nature and locals due to this. On the one hand, when people visit unexplored places, locals that are living in the region get some financial support as tourists will splurge money to get comfortable, and connectivity for the region improves over time as well. To exemplify, the Sahara desert is a huge area which is surrounded by poor people due to fewer resources, but by making it more touristy, the local economy has increased 20 folds in the past decade. Therefore, the influx of money into the region has brought better infrastructure as well as lifestyle upgrades. Thus, economically it is beneficial for remote locations to have more tourists visiting and exploring the surroundings. On the other hand, nature is negatively impacted as it is not used to having humans in the region. To illustrate, as explorations started in Antarctica where no human race existed until recently, global warming has started to increase the temperature in the region as more and more people visit and inhabit the land. Hence, impacting the climate all over the globe. Furthermore, littering human waste and other research waste is getting increased in the vicinity, which is impacting in a negative way. To put it in a nutshell, there are benefits economically to visiting remote places, but with a cost associated with it. To conclude, the balance needs to be maintained while visiting any unexplored territory to preserve it for future generations.