Do you agree that obesity is increasing in some rich countries?

Nowadays, many people are focusing on their health problems, however, obesity has increased in some wealthy countries, not only affecting adults but also affecting children. In this essay, I will convince you why obesity has become more serious in rich countries. The primary reason for rich nations becoming more overweight is the simple fact that unhealthy food is cheap and widely available. Increasingly, people have very busy lifestyles and trying to make time for preparing a meal is not a top priority for many, so a more convenient and fast option is often going to win. Because it needs to be fast, the health factor is a secondary concern and preparing food quickly can often be unhealthy. For instance, hamburgers and fried food can be made very quickly, though it contains a lot of sugar, salt and fat. Because of this, the food is very addictive and cravable, which leaves people wanting more of it, for which more is very easy to get with fast food restaurants being absolutely everywhere. Secondly, advertisements for fast food are everywhere and are becoming more powerful. Companies are getting better at marketing products and targeting you through social media and other means, like billboards and even more subliminal methods. Also, even when a consumer wishes to make a healthier choice, many of the advertisements that market a product as being a "health food " are not nearly as healthy as they claim to be. In conclusion, I do agree that obesity is increasing in rich countries, through high availability, affordability, powerful advertisements and social media unhealthy food and unhealthy lifestyles are difficult to avoid.