Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatment instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the rise of the internet, there has been an increase in the number of people following alternative medicines and treatments rather than a traditional approach to seeking out a prescription from doctors. There may be benefits to choosing alternative solutions, but in my opinion, it would bring harm to our own health. Recently, social media has taken a toll on the current generation and many self-taught people are trying new ways to heal from different sicknesses. It is agreeable that there may exist more than one way to cure a given well-being issue, homoeopathy and acupuncture, for example, but each person has his/her own characteristics in terms of health, and it can not be a case that if a particular medicine worked for a person, it would always work for all other patients in any given conditions. This can cause terrible side effects and may even worsen the health issue if pursued without conducting a doctor. Secondly, our medical science has taken a leap in understanding the human body and has drastically improved medical treatments to cure health problems. Only a registered doctor, who has pursued his/her career in studying medical science in depth would be able to accurately understand different health conditions of patients and guide effectively to provide prescriptions for medicines or treatments without causing much trouble getting side effects. For example, the recent viral illness due to coronavirus has been cured by vaccines discovered by medical research organizations. In that case, only a doctor could be trusted to be informed about recent trends in illness, a patient's history of medical treatments, and recent inventions in the production of medicines, to provide effective cures. In conclusion, I would like to point out that considering alternative solutions to treat medical problems may bring uncertainty about the cure and future implications, whereas, consulting a suitable doctor would be a more reliable way.