Health experts claim that walking is known to be beneficial to health. However, people are walking less on a daily basis. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage people to walk more again?

While health experts argue that walking is conducive to health, the number of steps people are taking every day is declining. There are several reasons for this, and I will discuss what can be done to cope with this issue. This phenomenon can be attributed to a number of factors. Firstly, due to the excessive workload, a large proportion of employees have to work overtime, feeling exhausted when they finish their job. Consequently, they feel too tired to walk and they have no motivation in doing regular exercise. Secondly, a huge number of residents are accustomed to a sedentary lifestyle because of the obsessive television programmes. For instance, after a hard day at work, watching TV shows has become a popular way of entertainment and people would rather sit in front of a television than go for a walk in their neighbourhood. Finally, a few individuals may not be aware of the positive consequences of walking and there may be not enough pedestrian area. In order to encourage all members of society to walk more, concerted efforts are required. To illustrate, employers should stop exploiting employees and motivate them to adapt to this healthy lifestyle. In other words, working adults can have more leisure time to go for a walk and this could help them to become more creative and inspirational, which can benefit employers in return. Besides, government campaigns should encourage citizens to spend less time watching TV programmes and raise the public's awareness about the risks of a sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, governments should invest in the construction of pedestrian areas or walking trails to provide an ideal place for local residents to walk. In conclusion, individuals are walking less primarily for the excessive workload, the sedentary lifestyle and the lack of pedestrian areas. Governments and employers should take responsibility to encourage local citizens to walk more.