Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable fact that mobile devices have now become a prominent part of our lives. Due to this,the children invest hours playing on their smartphones. This essay will not only shed some light on the causes but also will depict the negative impact it has. First and foremost, This obsession develops from being encouraged to use such devices for a longer period by parents initially and instead not being taught to follow a balanced schedule to play and learn accordingly. For instance, this is the era where both the parents are working professionals and they burn the midnight oil to earn a living, due to which they leave them with such gadgets to spend time. Moreover, the child inspires by the elders only. For Example, Adam miller my neighbour has an 8 years small sister who is left with him to be taken care of when the parents are at work. He is always on Instagram and scrolling through the feeds due to which his sister also got encouraged him to play with smart devices for hours. Apart from that, it comes with few pros but many cons which result in very fatal sometimes. These blue screens damage the vision in the retina. It also makes them vulnerable to headaches and addictions to some fatal games. For evidence, it was published in an article by Ahmedabad Mirror that a 10-year-old kid committed suicide after being a victim of the blue whale game in which the killer lures children for candy rewards and then commands them to jump off the balcony. To conclude, I believe though there are boons of development but so does the bane, and proper guidance along with monitoring is required on how the kid is utilising the time on screens and where in order to curb this issue.