Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved.

Since the start of globalisation, supermarkets have seen immense growth in capturing large market share which has detrimental effects on the local shops in the area. This trend is affecting the local communities as it makes it hard for them to survive. The solution to combat this issue is the elimination of middlemen from the framework. The below essay explains both aspects in detail. To begin with, the closure of local shops is fatal for the socio-economic environment as it makes it hard for small vendors to meet their regular needs. Moreover, this will lead to huge disparities in the incomes of different people which ultimately affects the emotional well-being of a person. Additionally, lower literacy rates tend to decrease as local vendors will not have sufficient funds to send their kids to schools or for higher studies which eventually affects the overall health of the country. For example On the other hand, to,battle this issue, the role of intermediary should be zeroed down and local vendors to obtain products directly from the suppliers which means more money at their disposal. This additional cash will help the shopkeepers to keep up-to-date products to enlarge the customer base. Moreover, the customers will have to pay at wholesale price which is far less than the price levied in big malls and supermarkets. To sum up, shutting down local shops creates inequality of income among the masses and to resolve this issue, the local vendors should procure goods from direct suppliers.