Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of time. In their opinion, children should only read serious, educational books. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience.

Some parents argue that reading books such as stories or novels are worthless and it leads to a waste of time. In contrast, they believe that children should only read academic and serious educational books because it is more useful. In my personal view I completely disagree with this point, and in this essay I will explain why and draw my own conclusion. First of all, in terms of the drawbacks of giving children specific books to read such as academic books,that will affect their personality and their freedom to choose what topics and books they like. For example, kids who are not allowed for them to read entertaining books such as cartoon stories and other famous stories for children,they have limited imagination and thinking and they will defiantly feel bored when they read serious books. The reason behind this is that children who love reading and are the more knowledgeable start, in the beginning, reading exciting books and then they start to read more educational books step by step. Moreover, there are many benefits of allowing children to read stories or novels. Firstly, they might extend their vocabulary and they can improve their reading and writing skills. This is because the stories for the young know how to steal children ’s attention and they will like to read more and more. In conclusion, although educational and academic books are incredibly crucial for kids. I believe that parents should give their children the freedom to read the books that they are interested in.