Some people think that hosting international sports events may be beneficial for a country. Discuss both views

Some people claim that sports events, especially international ones, bring numerous cultural and economic benefits to the country where they are organised, while others strongly disagree with this opinion and consider them harmful. This essay will examine the question from both points of view and then I will give my own perspective on the matter. On the one hand, sports events held on an international scale attract substantial numbers of tourists and fans who visit the organising country to support their teams. For example, the figures of visitors to Qatar, which has recently organised the World Championship in football, have skyrocketed in the recent month. This means that thousands of people not only visited the football stadiums but also saw the most famous sights in Qatar, went through vibrant cultural experiences and tasted local specialties. As a result, people from all over the world raised their awareness of the wonderful country of Qatar. Another benefit was related to economics. Thousands of visitors spent money on hotels, in restaurants and stadiums. This meant an upsurge in income for the hospitality and sports industries. And this profit has already been reinvested in the further development of the city, which is highly beneficial the population of Qatar. Finally, sports events involve the creation of jobs and therefore, improve the overall employment rates in the country. All these are the main reasons to favour world events in sports. On the hand, some people argue that sports competitions only harm. For instance, the larger the audience, the higher the crime rates in the organising cities. Another issue is hooliganism, which is fairly perceived as an integral part of football games. Vast examples from the previous world contests have shown us the detrimental results of intoxicated hooligans’ violent behaviour, which led to demolishing sports and tourism facilities and harming passers-by and hooligans themselves. Thus, these two are the main reasons against holding world events. To conclude, regardless of the certain disadvantages related to the increased crime rate, I strongly believe that international sports events only benefit the country that organises them, as they increase the awareness of that country on a global scale and bring a number of financial perks.